Monday, August 15, 2011
Mexican soccer Trivia Questions?
I think it is underrated (amongst the people), amongst FIFA (or IFFHS), I think it's in the place it should be, somewhere around 6th, 7th or 8th best league in the world. I think it's one of the most competitive leagues around the world. I do think part of why it seems underrated is because of the region it's in, other than Argentina and Brasil, there really isn't much competition for them. In terms of the sport, I think it's a better and more competitive league than the Scottish Premier League, the Portugese League, Greek League, Turkish League, Russian League, and the rest of the leagues from Europe besides the obvious ones, Spain, England, Italy, and the German Bundesliga. As for the French League, I really don't see either being better than the other, in terms of the sport. The French League has lost a taste because of Lyon winning the title 7 times in a row, there's really no competition to them, the only thing that is being competed for is for the 2 extra Champions League spots and the UEFA spots, but Lyon takes it without any competition. As for the money, it's the richest league outside of Europe, it's the league that brings the most revenue outside of Europe, it's the league with the best salaries outside of the obvious leagues and teams from Europe, it has the best stadiums, has a very good fanbase. The quality of the game in Mexico is very good. In Mexico, you have the 2 biggest teams from Mexico (Chivas and America) who have very good competition against them, it's not easy for them to win the Championship, the quality is as equal as the league from Argentina, the only thing that gives the league from Argentina a plus is the players that the league is exporting, other than that, I think the Mexican league is the best and most competitive outside of Europe. To give you an example, you have players from the Mexican League who are doing wonderful with their National teams in South America World Cup Qualifiers, take Paraguay for example, a big part of their WCQ squad is based in Mexico, and look at what place they are in right now in the World Cup Qualifiers, I think that tells something about the Mexican League, considering almost all of the Brasil and Argentina (which are obviously the 2 biggest in South America) squads are based in the top leagues from Europe. I think it could bring part of the thought on how competitive and good the Mexican League can be, not all, but it tells you something. Then take a look at the Copa Libertadores, Mexican teams are always competing with the big South American teams, nowadays, it's not the big South American teams, it's toe-to-toe, the same for Argentina, Brasil, and Mexico, teams like Boca Juniors, River Plate, Sao Paulo have such a hard time with Mexican Teams, for example, Chivas gave Boca Juniors a real bad 4-0 in the Estadio Jalisco and went and tied with Boca in the Boma to knock them out of the Libertadores, which ain't easy for any single team to knock Boca out in their competition, America went and beat Flamengo in the Estadio Maracana with a 4-0, as a visitor, that is very hard considering how hard it is to beat Brasilian teams as a visitor, especially for a team like Flamengo in the Maracana, and that's the score they needed to go to the next round, Chivas went and beat Sao Paulo in their stadium after Sao Paulo had like I think 20 years without losing in their own stadium. Cruz Azul is one of the only few teams who can say they went and defeated Boca Juniors in the Boma in International Competition, which was the Copa Libertadores Final, in which Boca and Cruz Azul went to penalties, in that game Boca Juniors won the Copa Libertadores. Regularly, you will have a Mexican team in the Semi-Finals, that's regular by now. Regularly, Mexican teams are in the Copa Sudamericana final, or in the case of Pachuca, they went and defeated Colo Colo in Colo Colo's stadium to win the title. The Mexican teams will win 8 out of 10 CONACAF Champions Leagues, that's almost a guarantee, there's no competition in CONCACAF. As for other things, I remember Pumas going and defeating Real Madrid for the Trofeo Santiago Bernabeu just recently. I remember Necaxa in the Club World Cup drawing with Manchester United and defeating Real Madrid by penalties to take the 3rd spot in the Club World Cup. These are just some of the things Mexican clubs have done. So like I said, amongst the people, I do think it's underrated, I don't know why, probably because they choose not to watch it. But amongst FIFA (or IFFHS), I think they are very accurate in where the Mexican League stands at. I could go on and on, but that was very long, so I'll stop here.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment